We Fight For Your Rights

What are the classifications of traumatic brain injury?

On Behalf of | Feb 15, 2024 | Personal Injury

Traumatic brain injury is a major cause of death and disability in the United States. TBIs are typically classified into mild, moderate and severe categories.

Understanding the differences can help you better understand a diagnosis.

Mild traumatic brain injury

Mild TBIs, sometimes considered concussions, are the most common type of brain injury. The symptoms of a mild TBI include headaches, dizziness, fatigue, changes in sleep patterns and problems with concentration and memory. Many symptoms resolve within days or weeks, though some may persist. Rest and avoiding potentially dangerous activities during recovery are important.

Moderate severity injury

Moderate TBIs involve a longer period of unconsciousness or amnesia than mild injuries. There is typically some impairment in brain functioning for hours or days after the injury. Symptoms may include headaches, confusion, lightheadedness, sluggishness and short-term memory loss. Recovery may take weeks or months and often requires rehabilitation to regain skills and function.

Severe traumatic brain injuries

Severe TBIs occur when extended periods of unconsciousness or amnesia occur after injury. Victims of severe TBI may be in a coma for days, weeks or months. Serious impairments in cognitive abilities are common and disability may be permanent in many cases. Rehabilitation focuses on relearning basic life skills, regaining function and learning to cope with permanent disability.

The classification of a traumatic brain injury into mild, moderate or severe categories depends on the duration of unconsciousness or amnesia and the degree of impairment and disability resulting from the injury. Seeking prompt medical attention and following doctor recommendations, including rehabilitation if needed, can help optimize recovery. Medical documentation can also build the foundation of a personal injury claim.